Cheers to the Years

It’s the last week of summer, hard to believe another school year and summer has gone by.

The last week of summer a year ago, I jumped out of a plane for the first time.

Looking back, ever since I took that leap of faith at 32,000 ft. in the air, life has just kept getting better.

Of course, I’ve had some hiccups, and some bad days.. but this last year has provided so many memories, and some of the best days of my life.

The obvious starter was jumping out of a plane. WOW. Skydiving is a thrill. I recommend it to anyone, despite any height fears.

As far as love goes, I’ve been lucky enough to spend the last 11 months with one of the best people I’ve ever met; my best friend, boyfriend. Every day is an adventure, in life and in love.

I turned 21, YAY! My favorite band (Matt & Kim) played a concert in SLC my bday night; I never made it to the bar, but it was the best birthday I’ve ever had. Sharing a beer with my parents for the first time, forever a memory. Being 21 has obviously brought a lot of memories. Sure, nights at the bars and clubs, but great food with great people, over great beer, and great conversations.

My mom turned 50, and she is more beautiful and amazing as ever. I owe half the person I am to her- and of course the other half to my amazing dad. They have been Vegan for a few months now, and are healthier and happier than I’ve ever seen them. I’m so unbelievably proud of these two.

I spent Thanksgiving and New Years in Northern California with the boyfriend and his family. Tahoe is one beautiful place.

In January, I ran my first Half Marathon! 13.1 miles and crossing the finish line has never felt so good. This was a big deal for me because I was exactly a year out from a soccer career ending surgery, running is the closest thing I have to soccer. It brought back feelings of accomplishment and determination I never thought I could feel again.

For Spring Break I went to Zion National park. The red rock is massive, and simply hypnotizing, enough said.

I had my first Vegas trip as a fresh 21 with all my best friends. It was crazy, exhausting, and necessary for every 21 year old. We ended the trip with a few days on the California beaches.

In June, I went on my first international trip. I flew to Spain by myself to meet my boyfriend who had been studying abroad. The culture and atmosphere was luring. I never wanted to leave. Post Spain, we spent a week in France. From dinner on the scene, to kissing at the very top of the Eiffel Tower, it was an unbelievable trip.

The rest of the summer called for backpacking trips through the Uinta Mountains, and hiking Mount Olympus (a 7 hours, 10 miles hike).

Also, for the first time in years, our family returned to Disneyland with our significant others. Disney is magical, but it was one of the most magical days I’ve had. Of course, we squeezed in some beach time and my grandma turned 80! LOVE HER.

And here I am.. one year later, smiling about how wonderful life is.

Thank you to everyone who has made this year a great one.

It’s hard to face how fast the time is passing, but at least it’s passing in the best way possible.

Cheers to the years, they’ve been good.

Leave a Reply

