Love, is love.

Sorry for the rant, but last night I wrote a paper on Sonnet 116 by William Shakespeare. The sonnet is about the sanction of marriage and power of love. This sonnet is addressed to a man, from a man:

“Love is not love
Which alters when it alterations finds,
Or bends with the remover to remove
O, no, it is an ever-fixed mark
That looks on tempests and is never shaken

If this be error and upon me proved,
I never write, nor no man ever loved.”

He says that love is impervious to time and all things physical; It is an eternal bond between two minds, that can withstand the harshest storms. He challenges anyone to prove him wrong, because he is so sure love is based on the inside, not the outside. Even if it’s between two men, or two women.

As I was turning in my paper this morning, I found out I read the assignment wrong; this wasn’t an assigned sonnet, and I may very well get a zero on the paper, as my professor made sure to ridicule me in front of the class.

I can’t help but think it happened for a reason. I can’t imagine ever being ridiculed simply for loving someone. It’s between two people; their heart, mind, and soul- it’s no one’s business but their own.

So thank you, Shakespeare for reinforcing the real definition of love on a day like today. I will gladly take a zero on my paper to be reminded of something like that.

Good luck to all my gay and lesbians friends out there! You’ve got my vote ♥

One thought on “Love, is love.

Leave a Reply

